Saturday night Hudson Speedway's legion of faithful racers and fans packed the King's Court Banquet Hall to honor their top competitors from the 2010 season.

Jr. Assistant Flagman award to Jake Raby with starter Randy Christian 

"Outlaw" Sportsman

Third generation racer Geoff Rollins was crowned Champion in Hudson's exciting "Outlaw" Sportsman division. Runner up honors went to ever popular Bobby Allen with Kevin Kephart making a strong return to finish third after two years away from racing.  Kevin and his brother Keith were awarded "Best Appearing Car" for their always immaculate #79.  Tim Casey Jr. edged three time feature winner Ron Bolduc for fourth followed by John Meaney, Peter Fiandaca, Rick Woodside and Ron Lord Jr. whose co-owner Dennis Soares was presented a well deserved Sportsmanship Award.  Rounding out the top finalists were Keith Walton and Sandy Lee who edged past teammate Shaun Waites on the final race to secure winter bragging rights at Team Daley Racing.

Rookie Stocks

Most Improved Driver [Rookies] Slika

In the highly competitive Rookie Stocks it was Dean Wendell taking his second consecutive title.  Last year he shared the stage with his father Mitch, the 2009 "Outlaw" champion, the first father/son champions in Hudson's 63 year history. Again this year the family made history as younger brother Chad took top honors in the Thunder Lights making him and Dean the only same year championship brothers at Hudson.  Proud father / crew chief Mitch still found time to run a part time schedule in his own race car.  Sharing the honors were mother/wife Joy and proud mother/grandmother Lois.

John Morin Jr. took second place in the Rookie Stocks after a disasterous opening day when a stuck throttle sent him hard into the third turn retaining wall he had helped construct in the pre-season. His "Hard Luck" award was certainly appropriate.  "Most Improved Driver" award went to Keith "Slicka" Ennis who took third place honors over Dan Murphy Jr.in another hard fought battle that went down to the final race.  Jerry LePage took two feature wins on his way to fifth in points with Scott Duval, Heath Tourtellotte, Corrie Merritt, Andy Nichols and Billy Clement Jr. rounding out the top ten.

Thunder Lights

Sam Gilman wheeled his NH Yoga Matters VW Golf to second place in the Thunder Lights with Carlos Esquivel third as second generation rookies Justin Beecher and Jarrod Soucy both took multiple feature wins on their way to fourth and fifth place in points.  More second generation racers, Nick Fisette, John Daughenbaugh and Megan Lord rounded out the top finalists.


Most Improved Driver [Roadrunners] Jason Carroll

Louis Maher fought off bad luck and mechanical ills to repeat as Roadrunner Champion.  Jef James took home second place honors as Jason Carroll, a newcomer to Hudson finished a hard earned third and was also awarded "Most Improved Driver".  Fourth place finisher Dave"Hollywood" Helliwell was a top competitor in both the Roadrunners and the Classic Lites earning him the "Hard Charger"Award. Likeable veteran Johhny Reefer took fifth with Eric Miller sixth. 

Fourteen year old Derek  Griffith started the season winning four features in the Thunder Lights Youth Division then made the big jump up to the highly competitive Roadrunners where he took three more features on his way to a fine seventh place finish and "Rookie of the Year" honors.  Loren Smith Jr., Patrick D'Alba and Jen Lord rounded out the top ten. Other top finishers included Don Soucy,Peter Raby,Mark Dunklee, Myles Devits, whose crew chief Danielle was awarded as "Hudson's Top Baker" for her efforts baking cupcakes and cookies for the pit crews, Jeff Gilman, Bob Field, Shaun Miller and Leon Kenison.

Classic Lites

The North East Classic Lites had a strong season at Hudson with Billy Ryder taking the championship.  George Helliwell made it a great season for his family of racers finishing second and making more Hudson history when he and his brothers Dave and Bill all won feature events on the same day.  Jim Ryder Jr., brother to Billy, took third place to cap off a great season for the Ryder Racing team.  Then Eddie Gilman, part of yet another three brother racing team took fourth place with Rob Bryant finishing fifth.  Dwayne Skofield, son of Hudson Legend Eddie Skofield, was sixth followed by Danny Shields, Jon Provost, Shane Rheinhold, Josh Provost, Jeff Gilman, Dave Helliwell and Craig Lambert.  Dan Shields Sr. was presented a placque in appreciation of his dedication to the Classic Lites and Hudson Speedway.

Classic Lite third place Jimmy Ryder, Jr. with Timmy Webber and Bob Munroe

V-6 Modifieds

Keith Caruso took his second championship in a row in the New England V-6 Modifieds with Eric Vilandre finishing in the runner up spot. Also awarded for their top finishes were Louis Maher, Wayne Brooks and Will Wallace Jr.

Other Awards

Dedicated to racing Bob Riopelle

Bill Clement Sr. was presented a Sportsmanship Award and AARP presented "Dedication to Racing" Awards to David Lee the Elder, Hudson's chief technician, and veteran drivers Bob Riopelle and Matt Bosowski.  A Dedication award was also presented to John Morin Sr. for his loyal support of racing at Hudson.

Dedicated to racing John Morin, Sr.

Hudson Speedway will begin its 65th consecutive season of racing on Sunday May 1, 2011.