2009 Banquet
by Bob Hayes

all photos by Bob Hayes

The Hudson Speedway annual awards banquet was held this past Sunday [November 8th] at the Kings Court in Hudson N.H.

For the first time in speedway history a father and son were both crowned champions in the same year as Dean Wendell won the Rookie Stock title and his father Mitch Wendell won the Outlaw Sportsman title.

Rookie Stock and Outlaw Sportsman champs Dean and Mitch Wendell

Keith Caruso, third generation driver and grandson of Mario “Fats” Caruso, won the V-6 Modified crown.

V-6 Modified Champ, Keith Caruso

Thirteen year old Dylan Bilodeau won the Thunder Lite title.

Paul Brown with thunder lite champ Dylan Bilodeau

Louie Maher won the Roadrunner title and Eric Bacon went home with the Classic Lites championship hardware.

Classic Lite champ Eric Bacon 

Most improved driver awards went to Dan Murphy Jr. in the Rookie Stocks, Eric Miller in the Roadrunners, Ron Lord Jr. in the Outlaw Sportsman and Jen Lord in the Thunder Lights.


Sportsmanship awards went to Sammy Gilman in the Thunder Lights, Jef James in the Roadrunners, Jerry Lepage in the Rookie Stocks and Bobby Allen in the Outlaw Sportsman.


Rookie of the year awards went to Derek Griffith in the Thunder Lights,

 John Morin the Rookie Stocks and Don Soucy in the Roadrunners.

Rookies of the Year, John Morin, Derek Griffith, Timmy Webber standing in for Don Soucy with Jean Webber 

Dedication to racing awards went to Dennis O’Brien and Jim Ryder Sr.

Dedication to Racing, Jim Ryder and Dennis O'Brien with Jean and Timmy Webber

 ...and multi car owners Jim Daley and Lewis Fortin.

The 2010 season opener is April 25th. Please visit the SCHEDULE page of this site for the complete Hudson 2010 schedule.